 

Goat trail and most of Mt Sanitas with my pop

After spending the better part of the day packing up my house with my folks and family for our impending move to south Boulder in a few weeks, my Dad and I decided we needed to go have some fun as the kids were occupied playing with the neighbor kiddos.  We rolled out to the goat trail which starts at the far west end of Hawthorne street, 5 minutes or less from my place.  Took the trusty ol’ westy.   Had a great time as always, we chit-chatted the whole way, enjoyed the views, read about the quarrying and still set a pretty solid pace especially considering my dad is 70, average according to the alltrails app was 2 mph over 1000 feet of elevation gain in 2 miles.  He is in great hiking shape as he is on the forest service volunteer ranger program in Tucson and was second for trail hours in February, out of 300+ volunteers, pretty impressive.

Stopped by the stone thrones

image

image

image

image

Funny aside – I had considerable gas and after about the sixth… release shall we say, my dad joked “you’d think the air would be fresher up here”

image

The Stone Thrones early on in the hike – not too far off the main trail.  Don’t know these people.

Leave a Reply

