 

Cruising the North Channel of Lake Huron

After racing the 101st Chicago to Mackinac sailboat race and having a heck of a good time at the party afterwards on Mackinac Island, I made my way to the ferry the next morning and managed to find my folks’ vehicle they had so kindly had their friends deliver for me to Mackinaw City.  I hopped in and cruised north across the five mile long Mackinac Bridge (They actually have drivers on each side waiting to drive your car across for you if you’re nervous).   

Shot from the bridge

Shot from the bridge

I made it to Soo Saint Marie, and crossed the bridge into Canada.  I actually was stopped at customs and they ran my record, clean of course and into Canada I went.  Got pulled over and was given a speeding ticket after about three hours.  Apparently at about 20 mph over they impound your car and you get in big trouble.  Note this should you want to speed in Ontario.  I made it to Killarney and wandered the docks until I found my folks.  Spent the night there and visited with some of their friends on the surrounding boats in the harbor, and enjoyed a nice dinner in town with some of their friends.  Even listened to the “Cruiser’s Net” for the north channel the next morning, a fellow who does a daily radio show for the region, aimed at boaters and you can pick it up on VHF.  Quite fun to watch and listen to.

It’s very beautiful up in that area and I love the lifestyle of cruising on a sailboat in the wilderness.  Essentially camping but in comfort and on the water.  Wake up, have breakfast, pull the anchor, sail for a few hours to a new cove or harbor, drop the anchor, take the dinghy to shore, hike, pick blueberries, cocktails on other boats, grill dinner, eat, play cards, go to sleep, repeat.   Very fun way to live!  We climbed a small mountain one day, making our way down a quite precarious slope on the way down, different than the way we came up, and exceedingly steep for my 60+ year old folks, and actually for me for that matter. 

My Mom working her way down the cliff, Dad lower down

My Mom working her way down the cliff, Dad lower down

My father is the happiest I’ve ever seen him up there.  He’s usually a pretty happy guy, but even better up north on his beloved boat in some of his favorite country, the north channel of lake huron.

Dad and I on top of the mountain

Dad and I on top of the mountain

Leave a Reply

