 

Everybody Loves a Lake House – Coldwater Michigan

Went to a lake house in Michigan last weekend.  Michigan is a beautiful state and has lots of lakes and subsequently lots of lake houses, which I love.  It’s always so relaxing, such great food, fun for everybody.  Swimming, kayaking, waterskiing, tubing, wakeboarding, cruising around on a pontoon boat, partying…  grilling out, people show up and leave whenever, totally laid back and cool.  Ryan is the man!  Terrific place on Coldwater Lake and lots of cool people and fun activities, not too far from Chicago, and I was able to stop by my 94 year old Grandma’s place in South Bend on the way and take her grocery shopping with me for the supplies I was tasked with bringing.  Always fun to see her, still getting around just fine at 94, how great is that?  And still whipping up delicious zucchini bread and split pea soup for her grateful grandson.  Also got to see my cuz who’s about my age and my Aunt and Uncle in Elkhart on the way back Sunday.

On the porch grubbing down

On the porch grubbing down

One fun story to share is on the pontoon boat we cruised a few miles up lakes and canals one evening.  We came to a particularly low bridge and people encouraged Will and I to climb on it, run across the road and hop back in the boat – a flimsy sewer pipe and caution deterred us… however on the return trip I gathered some courage, grabbed the bridge and pulled myself out of the boat, scampered up and over the railing, and halfway into the road before looking for cars, then ran across, hopped onto the sewer pipe just as the beginning of the boat emerged under me.   A big fluffy-looking seat was wide open, and I knew behind it was the steering wheel, driver, more people and then no boat, so I had to jump NOW, which I did and shazam, it was over. 

In the video below Ryan cuts the power at the apex of the tubing pyramid… and hilarity ensues.

Sunday we anchored the pontoon boat on a sandbar and goofed around.

Standing up (briefly) while tubing - Will is number 1!

Standing up (briefly) while tubing - Will is number 1!

Heading out for the afternoon on the pontoon boat

Heading out for the afternoon on the pontoon boat

Heading out for an afternoon on the water

Me, also heading out for an afternoon on the water

Leave a Reply

