 

Crackberry Control – how to turn off your blackberry email

I have a Blackberry that I use for work and my personal phone.  I sometimes, or should we say often, find myself distracted by new incoming emails and checking it all the time, working and typing even in the middle of get-togethers with friends.  It is rude and distracting.  I initially considered getting a separate personal phone so I could more easily keep the work one separate from my personal life.  I didn’t for convenience and cost reasons, plus the Blackberry Curve I find to be plenty small to fit in a pocket.

My Blackberry Curve with email turned off

My Blackberry Curve with email turned off

Yesterday I discovered how to turn the email off!  How brilliant – so now just text messages and phone calls come through.  This suits my purpose of having it just be a phone.

If anybody has a Blackberry Curve, here’s how you turn off the email:  Scroll down to the “Manage Connections” button on the home page, click on it.  Then roll down to “Mobile Network Options”, click on it, then it opens up the next page on “Data Services.”  Turn that to “Off”.  It doesn’t offer an obvious save option, but when you exit out of the screen it will ask you if you want to save your settings, hit “Save” and no more emails will come in until you go back to Manage Connections and turn Data Services back to “on”.

Enjoy your new freedom – all on our quest to make life more exciting, interesting and enjoyable.  If you can be more in the present it seems you can enjoy the present, enjoy where you are and who you are with, and have some control over your Blackberry if you are like me and need some help in that department.

12 Responses to Crackberry Control – how to turn off your blackberry email

  1. Justina says:

    that gets rid of texts too.

  2. Alex Sayer says:

    that worked for me, & it kept the texts on. thanks!

  3. Karl says:

    I have seen many forums say simply turning off Data Services stops email delivery. That is tru however when you turn Data Services back on you get a flury of email that was stored up at the RIM BB email site. So how do you really STOP email from going to the blackberry for a period of time and NOT receive it later when Data services is back on?

    This would truly be beneficial for someone who only wants email for periods when they are out of office.

    Thanks.

  4. Caitlin says:

    Thank you so much, it has worked for me. Going to Germany tomorrow so it has been a lifesaver as my mobile phone company was trying to charge my a bomb! Many Thanks.

  5. Mike says:

    It turned of BB Messaging, does anyone know how to disable just the emal.

  6. stacey says:

    Will this be ok if im taking my phone abroad? I am going to Turkey on holiday tomorrow and want to take my phone but not have a huge bill to come back to.

  7. - says:

    Fabulous!!! Thank you so much…

  8. nicky says:

    this doesn’t help me. 😦 it’s turned off bb mesenging and i also can’t get phone calls. am so frustrated with the constant emails coming in when i’m at my work desk and dont need them to. aargggggh!!

  9. nathalie says:

    I’ve been to every possible site there is. all I want is to delete my email settings… don’t want the rest to go away…. seeing as indeed the blackberry is no use whatsoever as I listen to your solution (and everyone elses). do you, or anybody else for that matter know how to simply kill the mail and still being able to use my BB-messaging and my what’s app and all other connections?

  10. how do you delete a kik account for good

    Crackberry Control – how to turn off your blackberry email | Adventure from Chicago

Leave a Reply

