 

Home For Christmas

Headed home for Christmas, drove from Chicago to Birmingham, Michigan, about five hours. The weather was so bad we stopped over in South Bend and spent the night at my Grandma’s. It was snowing like crazy and predicted to get worse. My brother in law was with me and we were picking up my 93 year old Grandma anyways. Headed out of South Bend the next morning, roads were fine the following day. Spent some terrific time at home, with my Grandfather who’s wife, my Grammie, just passed away a couple weeks ago. Was good to see him, we actually shared a room, was fun having a 93-year-old for a roommate, how often does somebody get that experience?? Was great being home with my two little nieces, 1 and 3 years old.

)

Both my nieces, Brooke and Courtney 🙂

Good times, really fun to play with them.

My Niece Courtney

My Niece Courtney

 The 3-year-old got the flu and was up vomiting all night Friday night, I didn’t need to be up with her as her parents (my sis and bro-in-law) were handling the situation, but again, how often does one get that experience? And I helped out changing sheets and such. Drive back Saturday was fun, just my Grandma and I. Took her to the grocery store, had dinner at Bob Evans, and made sure all her gifts and things were unloaded and in her house. She gave me three delicious loaves of zucchini bread, which won’t last long as I’m sure I will eat them ravenously as always. Made it back safely to Chicago.

Had a good friend in from Dubai who is Lebanese. Was fun to see him, took him to Second City, Wells on Wells, church at Park this morning, and my favorite brunch spot, Wishbone for some southern cookin’. Had some great conversation about Israelis, Iraq, Lebanon, Dubai, and Iranian influence and the middle east in general from his perspective, was very interesting.

One Response to Home For Christmas

  1. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

