 

Hustle up the Hancock

How cool is that race?  Up 94 floors to the top of the Hancock Center in Chicago. 

The Hancock Building in Chicago

The Hancock Building in Chicago

2700 or so entrants, staggered starts every 8 seconds.  Have heard great things about it but have never done it.  As a mountaineer it’s something I may be pretty good at or may find myself wheezing and puffing at floor 18.  We shall see.  Training on the stairmaster then will do some stairs at my office building – but tough to find somewhere open with as many floors as the Hancock – not too many options!  Aon, Sears, Hancock, Trump.   Goal is to get to level 20 for 25 minutes on the stairmaster before the race.  That may be aggressive.  Other goal is to do it in better than 17 minutes.  Puts me in the top third of my age group.  We shall see!  Pretty excited.  The gym where I work is sponsoring us, Lakeshore Athletic Club.  100 foot high climbing wall at Lakeshore Athletic clubI teach rock climbing there part-time, one day a week for two hours.  100 foot high wall, amazing. 

100 foot high climbing wall at Lakeshore Athletic club
The climbing wall at Lakeshore Athletic Club where I work

The climbing wall at Lakeshore Athletic Club where I work

It’s fun, free membership, pro-deals on climbing and outdoor gear, and a whopping 50 cents over minimum wage or something like that.  It’s fun, I love it.  Been at it for 8 years or so.  Also keeps me climbing.

One Response to Hustle up the Hancock

  1. […] climb hard and push the limits, I’m looking forward to getting on the wall again.  See the Hustle Up The Hancock post for more pics of the 100 foot wall at […]

Leave a Reply

