 

Pacific Northwest

I spent the last 5 days out in the Seattle area.  Got in some good hiking with my buddy Jarid and his female Saint Bernhard Sasquatch. We went to the big four ice caves, which was pretty cool. Not strenuous at all. We went inside – I took some video, it was melting so fast it felt like rain on the inside. I ventured in farther than the others and got wetter because of it. It was Sasquatch’s (hilarious name) first time on snow and she went nuts! It was great to see Jarid and his wife Carmen (call her Car man, she loves that) again, last time I saw them was in England when they lived there. Very cool couple, lots of fun, love having guests and showed us all around. They live in the hip are of Seattle called WEst Seattle. We had breaksfast one morning at Easy Street breakfast and music store – neat joint. I bought aCD of a local artist there, asked for upbeat and happy music. I think I’ll pop it in the stereo now. Later we hooked up with Lisa’s Aunt and Uncle, very nice and generous people who made us some delicious food. (As did Car man and Jarid – great barbecue and fire in their backyard) We headed over on Saturday to their beach house near Bainbridge Island, taking the ferry over. Their places were very rustic, built 80 or 90 years ago – I really enjoyed it, right on the water, canoes to play with, dog to chase around. We canoed back into a bay and up a tidal stream and saw a ton of salmon jumping out of the water, it was amazing. Those are some huge fish. And the tide went out like a zillion feet – nothing like I’ve ever seen on Nantucket. The beach grew by probably 60 feet, easy. Very cool. Shoulda brought a fishing pole. It was cold, damp, and rainy and overcast the whole time – par for the course in the fall in Seattle I suppose. I’m not sure I don’t like chicago summers better – and the sailing there – I love being able to run around in my bathing suit and jump into the lake to cool off. Their I think it’s just too cold for that. Another crazy thing – their were huge sea lions on buoys right by downtown seattle – I found that to be terrific to see, though I hear the salmon runs are nothing compared ot what they used to be. All in all a great trip, tons of fun with Lisa and everybody else, and we were treated so so well by our extremely generous hosts. I intend to have plent of money and do that type of thing more often. It would be fun to be the host at a lake house, ski house, and island house.

 All in all a relatively staid trip (read laid back, maybe even boring) great to reconnect with Jarid and Carmen and to get to know some of Lisa’s family and spend some time in the outdoors.  Friends and nature = good for the soul.

Or a different ending: All in all a great trip, tons of fun with Lisa and everybody else, and we were treated so so well by our extremely generous hosts.  I intend to have plent of money and do that type of thing more often.  It would be fun to be the host at a lake house, ski house, and island house.

Leave a Reply

